university strike
university strike

Every University In The UK Will Be Affected By 18 Days Of Uni Strikes

Almost every uni in the UK will strike between February and March. Find out if yours is affected.

The University and College Union (UCU), has announced universities in the UK will be shut following a series of teacher strikes for the duration of three weeks.

This equates to more than 70,000 staff at around 150 universities across the UK. The duration of the strike is said to be for 18 days between the months of February and March 2023. The exact dates and universities affected have now been released and are listed below.

This happened back in 2022 too, when we reported on university strikes in November. This is definitely going to affect you if you’re a uni student, as this is probably the biggest teacher strike ever. Read on to find out what’s happening, why and if you’re uni is affected.

What’s happening?

The strike has been set in place due to disputes over working conditions, pensions and pay, says the UCU. 

The members of staff striking aren’t limited to teachers either — librarians and other support staff will be joining the strike too. Uni staff has requested a pay rise too, above the 4% to 5% offered by the employer group — the Universities and Colleges Employers Association (UCEA).

Plus, the UCU has claimed its average member will lose more than a third of their future retirement income under a “package of cuts” being planned by employers.

The news of this strike has come just a mere few hours after teacher members of the NASUWT (the teacher’s union) failed to meet the legal threshold to strike.

When will the university strikes in 2023 happen?

As of 18th February, planned UCU strikes have been paused. This is apparently due to “significant progress” to address issues surrounding conditions and pay.

The action had been due to take place on 21, 22, 23, 27 and 28 February and 1 and 2 March. However, planned strikes after these dates, (16, 17, 20, 21 and 22 March), will still go ahead.

What does this mean for students?

As the majority of uni staff have voted in favour of striking, this means you may see lectures, tutorials and seminars cancelled. There may be little to no support on studies either during this time. In fact, it’s likely that around 2.5 million students will be affected by this, however many students have previously been supportive of their lecturers taking strike action.

The full list of UK universities affected by the upcoming UCU strikes

This list is not exhaustive, and some universities may choose to back down. Please check with your uni if you’re unsure if they’re striking:

  • Aberdeen, The University of
  • Abertay University
  • Aberystwyth University
  • Anglia Ruskin University
  • Arts University Bournemouth
  • Aston University
  • Bangor University
  • Bath Spa University
  • Bath, University of
  • Bedfordshire, University of
  • Birkbeck, University of London
  • Birmingham City University
  • Birmingham, The University of
  • Bishop Grosseteste University
  • Bolton, The University of
  • Bournemouth University
  • Bradford, University of
  • Brighton, University of
  • Bristol, University of
  • Brunel University
  • Buckinghamshire New University
  • Cambridge, University of
  • Canterbury Christ Church University
  • Cardiff Metropolitan University
  • Cardiff University
  • Central Lancashire, University of
  • Chester, University of
  • Chichester, University of
  • City, University of London
  • Courtauld Institute of Art
  • Coventry University
  • Cranfield University
  • Cumbria, University of
  • De Montfort University
  • Derby, University of
  • Dundee, The University of
  • Durham University
  • East Anglia, University of
  • East London, University of
  • Edge Hill University
  • Edinburgh Napier University
  • Edinburgh, University of
  • Essex, University of
  • Exeter, University of
  • Falmouth University
  • Glasgow Caledonian University
  • Glasgow School of Art
  • Glasgow, University of
  • Gloucestershire, University of
  • Goldsmiths, University of London
  • Greenwich, University of
  • Harper Adams University
  • Heriot-Watt Universit
  • Hertfordshire, University of
  • Huddersfield, The University of
  • Hull, The University of
  • Imperial College London
  • Institute of Development Studies (IDS)
  • Keele University
  • Kent, The University of
  • King’s College London
  • Kingston University
  • Lancaster, University of
  • Leeds Arts University
  • Leeds Beckett University
  • Leeds Trinity University
  • Leeds, The University of
  • Leicester, University of
  • Lincoln, University of
  • Liverpool Hope University
  • Liverpool Institute of Performing Arts (LIPA)
  • Liverpool John Moores University
  • Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine
  • Liverpool, University of
  • London Metropolitan University
  • London School of Economics
  • London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
  • London South Bank University
  • Loughborough University
  • Manchester Metropolitan University
  • Manchester, The University of
  • Middlesex University
  • Newcastle University
  • Newman University
  • Northampton, The University of
  • Northumbria University
  • Norwich University of the Arts
  • Nottingham, The University of
  • Open University
  • Oxford Brookes University
  • Oxford, University of
  • Plymouth Marjon University
  • Plymouth, University of
  • Portsmouth, University of
  • Queen Margaret University
  • Queen Mary, University of London
  • Queen’s University Belfast
  • Reading, University of
  • Robert Gordon University
  • Roehampton University
  • Rose Bruford College
  • Royal Academy of Music
  • Royal Agricultural University
  • Royal Central School of Speech and Drama
  • Royal College of Art
  • Royal College of Music
  • Royal Holloway, University of London
  • Royal Northern College of Music
  • Royal Veterinary College, University of London
  • Ruskin College
  • Salford, The University of
  • SAMS at University of the Highlands and Islands
  • Senate House, University of London
  • Sheffield Hallam University
  • Sheffield, The University of
  • SOAS, University of London
  • Solent University
  • South Wales, University of
  • Southampton, University of
  • St Andrews, University of
  • St George’s, University of London
  • St Mary’s University College, Belfast
  • St Mary’s University, Twickenham
  • Staffordshire University
  • Stirling, The University of
  • Stranmillis University College
  • Strathclyde, University of
  • Suffolk, University of
  • Sunderland, University of
  • Surrey, University of
  • Sussex, University of
  • Swansea University
  • Teesside, University of
  • Trinity Laban
  • UCA University for the Creative Arts
  • Ulster University
  • University College Birmingham
  • University College London
  • University of the Arts London
  • University of Wales Trinity Saint David
  • Warwick, University of
  • West London, University of
  • West of England, University of the
  • West of Scotland, University of the
  • Westminster, University of
  • Winchester, The University of
  • Wolverhampton, University of
  • Worcester, University of
  • Wrexham Glyndwr University
  • Writtle University College
  • York, University of
  • York St John University

Has your uni been affected? Follow the Student Beans Instagram and check out the Student Beans blog to be the first to know about more strikes and other breaking news that could affect you.