Thought your accidental message to your ex was long gone? Think again…
Whether it’s a drunk text to your Nan or an embarrassing typo in a group chat, we’ve all deleted the odd message from our WhatsApp conversations. While you might have thought those awkward moments could be permanently erased from both yours and your friends’ phones, you’d be wrong.
There’s no denying that WhatsApp has become a staple of modern life, whether it’s the group chat that pings off every five seconds with memes and funny messages or your Mum asking when you’ll next be coming home, we’re all pretty addicted to the app.
For good reason too. The flexibility of having everyone you know accessible through one app, the fact that it shares the pics from your weekend straight to your camera roll, or just the simple fact that you can have the family dog as the background to all your chats is something we can no longer seem to live without.
What we can live without, however, is people being able to read those deadly deleted messages.
While this news might make you want to crawl under a rock, the good news is that you can also access your friends’ faux pas too. That’s right — no more wondering what they deleted moments after sending it to save themselves the embarrassment.
Let’s find out how you can access your friends’ deleted messages (and how they can see yours too).
How to read deleted WhatsApp messages
If you’ve ever bought a new phone and installed WhatsApp, you may have noticed how it very handily had backed up all your chats.
WhatsApp has a backup feature that means if you accidentally delete the app, reset your phone, or get a new one, you’ll still have access to your previous conversations.
You can set this feature to backup daily, weekly, or even monthly or to not back up your messages at all depending on how much of a mess you’d be in if you lost them.
So, how does this help you read deleted messages? We’re not going to lie, it’s definitely a bit of a faff but if you really need to read that deleted message from your crush, then it’s probably worth it. Basically, you need to uninstall and reinstall WhatsApp.
But before you do this make sure your messages are backed up — it would just be too devastating if you lost everything else in the process. To back up your chats in the app you need to got to:
Settings –> Chats –> Chat backup
Then tap “Back up” to ensure all your messages are backed up.
Next, you can uninstall and reinstall the WhatsApp app on your phone and when you sign back in, you’ll be asked if you want to restore all your chats from the backup. Obviously, you want to select “yes” here.
Once your chats have been restored, you should find that all your messages — including the ones deleted by your friends — have been restored. That’s right, you’ll be able to view the deleted messages too.
While this process may not be worth it to laugh at your mate’s funny typo, it might be worth the effort for something a bit more serious or intriguing… Let us know on our Instagram if you give it a try and if you find out any juicy gossip too!